I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas!

Well one week of exams down, the end of the fall semester is in sight and Christmas is almost here! Personally I like studying for exams with music, and during fall exams a lot of times that means CHRISTMAS MUSIC! One of my favorite songs is Gayla Peevey’s “I Want an Hippopotamus for Christmas,” probably because its just a unique song and classic 1950’s with the big band backing, how can you not love it?

So of course while studying I got distracted the first time that came on and decided to see if I could find out more information about the song, and did you know that 10 year old Gayla Peevey, the singer, ACTUALLY GOT A HIPPOPOTAMUS FOR CHRISTMAS THAT YEAR!? Check it out, once people heard the song, a local promoter at the Oklahoma Zoo used the song to raise funds to “give her a hippopotamus” for Christmas.  Luckily for her parents and for the zoo and the public – she donated that hippo to the zoo and he lived for nearly 50 years!

Guess I should start singing that I want my school loans covered for Christmas huh?

Good luck with the rest of your exams everyone!

Leave a comment